The Awards

The National Navigation Award Scheme operates three awards; the Navigator Award, the Outdoor Discovery Award and the Navigation Tutor Course.  All these awards are run by registered providers who all have the appropriate qualifications, training and expertise.


Navigator Award

The aims of the Navigator Award are simple – to give lovers of the outdoors, whatever their sport, age or fitness, the freedom to explore the paths, trails, hills and mountains of Britain and abroad.

The NNAS Navigator Awards are accredited by the Scottish Credit & Qualifications Framework (SCQF) at Levels 4, 5 and 6 and 2 SCQF credit points are awarded on completion.


Outdoor Discovery Award

The Outdoor Discovery Award or ODA is ideal for people of all ages who wish to learn basic navigation skills at a gentle rate, encouraging them to gain and improve personal confidence to get out and get active.

tutor award graphic

Navigation Tutor Award

The NNAS has launched the NNAS Tutor Award, a course for those who teach navigation. It is a recognition that just because one can personally navigate it doesn’t follow that one can teach it! All registered providers and their instructors of the Navigator Award will have attended a Tutor Course by November 2019.

Skip to content